AO3: Jump to a Random Work

adds a "Random Work" button (top right corner) when viewing works in a tag/filter or your Marked For Later list

< Feedback on AO3: Jump to a Random Work

Review: OK - script works, but has bugs

§
Posted: 2022-11-10

This works nice for giving a random fic but it seems that if its on the filter button does not work anymore. it also does not appear in the marked for later screen (i dont use marked for later but i wanted to check so i added some fics to there and it still was not there). also i am new to scripts so there might be a way to turn it off apply my filters and then turn it back on to randomize a fic but that didn’t seem to work for me . but other than those two things it seems to work well so thank you for this script !

escctrlAuthor
§
Posted: 2022-11-11

Thank you for your feedback! May I ask, could you link me a page that doesn't work for you? I just tested it again on a tag page archiveofourown.org/tags/xxx/works as well as on a filter archiveofourown.org/works?commit=Sort+and+Filter&xxx, and both worked as expected. Maybe I'm missing something specific.

Same on the Marked For Later list. Could you elaborate what exactly doesn't work for you? Does the button not show up (see screenshot), or does it not redirect you for example?

Sometimes scripts fail due to incompatibilities between script managers. Are you using Greasemonkey, Tampermonkey, Violentmonkey, or something else? And on which browser?

Here are a couple more things that can help pinpoint where the problem is:

• Some script managers (e.g. Tampermonkey) tell you which scripts they've applied on a page. Does the Random Work script show up in the list on the pages that you expected it to work?