MTurk HIT Database Mk.II

Keep track of the HITs you've done (and more!). Cross browser compatible.

< Feedback on MTurk HIT Database Mk.II

Review: OK - script works, but has bugs

§
Posted: 2016-12-14
Edited: 2016-12-14

Error when writing to database/restoring from backup

I've been using Firefox verdion of hitdb for about six months now, and everything was smooth, until today, when it started to hang up every time when updating database. I have a few backups of my database, so after a few attempts of regular update, i did try to completely delete my current database, import one of the backups and update it again. What happens, however, is that i can't import backups with 42000+ hits, only the ones with less, than that. And when i import backup with, let's say, 40000 of hits and try to do regular update, script hangs up again every time somewhere in 42000 hits region with the same error, as on attached screenshot.

feihtalityAuthor
§
Edited: 2016-12-14

@romanv Thanks for the screenshot! That made things a lot easier. You'll notice that it says QuotaExceededError which only occurs when it's trying to save some transient data into localStorage, but localStorage cannot hold any more information. It's also worth noting that localStorage is distinct from the database.

What you'll want to do is clean up your localStorage as it has a default cap of ~10MB per domain (depending on browser/implementation. There are two options, either purge everything by clearing cache and cookies (not recommended) or manually go through and delete unnecessary and unused clutter (recommended).

Use this snippet I wrote to get a list of localStorage keys and their sizes. You can remove a key and its associated data with localStorage.removeItem('key'), obviously replacing key with the actual key listed under the index column of the returned table.

§